Wednesday, March 14, 2018

The consequence of being a dumbass. #sitthefuckdown



Today, was one of the scheduled walk out days that children around America have planned out and spread on social media. Like Herpes or the clap.

My response to this is just like I put it to my own daughter this morning:

Dear Children who think you are grown,

I do not in any way see what you are trying to accomplish by walking OUT on your education.
What are you rallying against....exactly?
Is your principal handing out guns on the down low?
Do your teachers wear "We support crazy kids killing our other kids" T-Shirts?

Because I believe, and correct me if I am mistaken, that by you walking OUT of your classrooms...you are walking out on your teachers.

The people who are so poor because they are underpaid but they still buy you pencils and backpacks.
Your principal, who runs through safety protocols 5 times a day and who's nightmares are peppered with gunshots and the faces of her students.

But MOST importantly, You are walking out on your EDUCATION. That education is your job.
It is your job to show up and make good enough grades so colleges will accept and vet for you. So that you can get a higher EDUCATION and maybe join congress and change the world, yeah but for realsies this time.

You want to rally up the troops GREAT! I will buy the donuts. Saturday, Sunday or any day after 3:00.
You want to hold a candle light vigil for children who have lost their lives to children who were not raised correctly, GREAT! I will buy you candles! Saturday, Sunday or any day after 3:00.
NOT while I am working my FIRST job and you are supposed to do your ONLY one.

You see, because in the great big ADULT world, if I walk out on my JOB for 17 minutes in protest of....well ANYTHING. My ass gets fired. And rightly so.

And if you walk out on YOUR job for any amount of time, the consequences are high. Not only with that little note that gets shoved into your file (You know, the one the colleges will see) But at home, with me. Because no MA'AM.

It is sad that children have died. Tragic. Heart wrenching.
But let me tell you where that starts. It certainly isn't in the tool that was used for the slaughter. It is in the hand that DARED to pick it up.

I grew up in a house with a walk in closet FULL of guns. EVERY kind you can think of.

I respected my daddy, and just like I wouldn't EVER talk back, roll my eyes or not look in HIS when he spoke, I would NEVER touch a gun without him behind my back telling me where to point it and which way the wind was blowing.

Cuz know why? (It's the simplest thing really...) I was raised with respect and DISCIPLINE.


SO little girl. You want to rally against Gun violence? Great. You want to change the world? AWESOME! You want to just say NO to bullying? I will make the fucking buttons! Saturday, Sunday or ANY day after 3:00.

#nomaam #sitthefuckdown #dontbeadumbbitch #beasmartbitch





6 comments:

  1. Abso-fucking-lutely correct. Beautifully written and spot on.

    ReplyDelete
  2. So let’s get this straight, it’s our constitutional right to express ourselves in these ways, and let’s also get something straight, our country is getting ran to the ground by the poor decisions of the ADULT population. Those of you who think you are grown because you have a job, well congrats I do too. And I do school, and sports. I support myself, I moved out of my house early because it was too chaotic anf I support the walk out. I support kids taking a stand on their own to say hey, something needs to be done. Schools aren’t safe, kids are bullies but hey so are parents and so are teachers. The mistake shouldn’t be on the depressed shooter who was bullied their entire life, it should be on all the ADULTS who probably saw some signs and did absolutely nothing about it. I self harmed for two years and how many people noticed, not even one. But is it all on my peers, the ones who are just as busy and emotionally distraught as me, no. It should be on the ADULTS surrounding me who probably noticed and said nothing. The system is corrupt, people everywhere are careless. It’s not all on kids to get their act together and be nice to everyone, it’s on our entire population including the dumbass adults who run this country, mainly to the ground. So thank you for spreading you close minded views, if only proves your own stupidity.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's hard to say anything contrary since nobody seems willing to look at the opposing views and I know you're likely to shut down and ignore this but here I go anyway:
      Guns in the hands of non-adults is a problem...because there is no discipline anymore. Every child is a unique snowflake with an entire world discriminating against their right to a non-denominational, decaf nonfat soy latte with exactly 3 shots of vanilla, ungraded participation awards for everyone, rainbow and sunshine Utopia.
      Kids and teens are spoiled, are over protected, and have no respect and that is why you have gun violence and bullying and all the other kind of juvenile delinquency. Fucking grow up and realize the world isn't out to get you, stop being dicks online to each other, and respect adults (the ones here to protect you if you need backup). You were a self harmer and nobody noticed...I assume YOU noticed. Why not talk to Mom, dad, grandparent, teacher, coach, friend's mom or dad, or any of a thousand grown ups you saw every day since you first started feeling kinda sad or upset or whatever?
      Guns are saving lives, and I don't mean the scary fantasy guns all the gun control morons talk about either (citizens can not buy a machine gun like movies show, those are army weapons kept safe and locked up by your military so unless the school bully is involved in international black market terrorism trade you don't need to worry about anything that goes bang faster than a trigger can be pulled). Handguns are used by responsible citizens who far out number those who carelessly don't lock their guns up or who buy teens rifles without safety classes and teaching respect.

      Damn I could go on and on with how blind these walk out teens are but it's falling on deaf ears. I completely understand the sorrow and outrage at the current political leadership and corruption and the senseless loss of children. There is a better way to fight though and getting an education and working WITH adults not against them is step 1. Hopefully you find peace and stay on the right path. -Jeff from California

      Delete
    2. "The mistake shouldn’t be on the depressed shooter who was bullied their entire life, it should be on all the ADULTS who probably saw some signs and did absolutely nothing about it."

      Okay that RIGHT there is the bullshit I am talking about. OF COURSE it is the shooters fault. Why? Because he picked up a gun, planned the slaughter of children and followed through with his plan. Bam.
      It is as simple as that.
      It is called natural consequences. Something too many children are being protected from.
      If a man rapes you. Is it not HIS fault? Or is it his parents fault because he secretly hid his rapist views and ideals and no one magically stopped him.
      Seriously?!!


      "I self harmed for two years and how many people noticed, not even one. But is it all on my peers, the ones who are just as busy and emotionally distraught as me, no. It should be on the ADULTS surrounding me who probably noticed and didn't say anything."

      So you SECRETLY harmed yourself. You took great steps to ensure that people DIDN'T KNOW and THEN you blame the people you hid it from because they PROBABLY should have noticed?.....um. Great rationalization.

      "The system is corrupt, people everywhere are careless. It’s not all on kids to get their act together and be nice to everyone, it’s on our entire population including the dumbass adults who run this country, mainly to the ground."

      The system has always been corrupt sweetheart. Most of Us ADULTS just don't whine and kick and throw baby fits because it is. And nobody EVER said it was up to you kids to get your acts together...except you wanting to be grown and incite other children to disobey their school systems.

      "So thank you for spreading you close minded views, if only proves your own stupidity."

      Well you are very welcome.

      Delete
  3. Jeff from California,
    Thank you for your response. YES!!!!! To everything you said.
    xo Lo

    ReplyDelete

Shark week

I hope you enjoy this sneak peek! I have to preface this chapter by letting you know that Jessica CAN hear but speaks ONLY in sign langu...